Lake Charles, LA -


Under the 2014 Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (JAG), the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office is proposing the procurement of emergency LED light racks for patrol cars, underwater vehicle lift bags for the Marine Division, a new polygraph machine, one small tactical robot, and one fiber optic scope.

The application for federal assistance under this grant is due by June 10, 2014 and comments from the public on this proposal are encouraged prior to that date. Comments can be sent via email to or mailed to the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office, Attn: Deputy Louis Hebert, 5400 E. Broad St., Lake Charles, LA 70615.


The Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office will host the 2014 LA Law Enforcement Torch Run Thursday, May 22, beginning at the Civic Center steps at 8:30 a.m. and ending at the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office at 5400 E. Broad Street, for a distance of approximately 5 miles.

The Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics is an international series of torch relays, run by law enforcement officers leading up to each state or nation's Special Olympic Summer Games. The Special Olympics Louisiana State Summer Games will be held May 23-25, 2014 at Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond. Law enforcement officials carry the Flame of Hope across the state culminating with the Torch Run Final Leg, and the lighting of the cauldron to officially open the Special Olympics Louisiana Summer Games in Hammond.

The Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office is the hosting agency for the Southwest Region Torch Run, which is the 2nd largest run in the state. The Southwest region is made up of law enforcement officers from Calcasieu, Cameron, Beauregard and Jeff Davis Parishes. Law Enforcement officers from the Southwest Region will run the "Flame of Hope" for Special Olympics Louisiana through Calcasieu Parish and it will be picked up by adjoining parish law enforcement agencies until it reaches the Opening Ceremonies.

All law enforcement officers in the Southwest Region who are interested in participating in this year's Torch Run, please contact Kayla Vincent at the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office (337) 491-3791.

On March 18, the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission awarded the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office with the 2013 DWI Law Enforcement Award for Most DWI Arrests per Sheriff's Office at a luncheon in Baton Rouge for their continuing efforts to remove impaired drivers from our highways.

As a result of our deputies' pro-active approach, the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office was responsible for a total of 537 DWI arrests in 2013.

CPSO Sr. Cpl. Cade Doucet, Cpl. Ty Istre and Sgt. Chris Ramos accepted the award on behalf of Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso and the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office.

On January 15, the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office Reserve division was recognized by the Lake Charles City Council for their exceptional work deterring crime and assisting shoppers during the 2013 Annual Robbery Prevention Mobilization (RPM) in the parking lot at the Prien Lake Mall during the holidays. CPSO Reserve deputies volunteered for a total of 1612 hours between November 29 and December 26, 2013.

Pictured are Special Services Commander Matt Vezinot, Captain James Hines, Lt. Michelle Bean, and Reserve Deputies Bill Hambor, Johnny Peloquin, Danny Cheatwood, Wade Fontenot, and Mike Naquin.

Since 2004, the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office has collected and donated bicycles to less fortunate children in Calcasieu Parish during the Annual CPSO Christmas Bike Drive.

In 2013, CPSO deputies, along with the First Pentecostal Church of Lake Charles and other area organizations, collected over 100 bicycles.

Megan Naquin is the 2013 recipient of the $500 LA Sheriff's Association Scholarship given by the Sheriff annually to an employee's child who has graduated from high school and will be attending a Louisiana college.

Megan graduated from LaGrange High School in May 2013 with a cumulative GPA of 4.1 and scored a 24 on her ACT.

She will be attending McNeese State University in the fall and plans to major in Chemical Engineering.

She is the daughter of Cary Naquin who works in the Warrants Division.

CPSO Applies for 2013 Byrne Justice Assistance Grant
Under the 2013 Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (JAG), the sheriff's office is proposing the procurement of three (3) 2013 or later models 4x4 all terrain vehicles and one (1) 2013 or later model wave runner watercraft. The agency has implemented a specialty vehicle replacement program designed to systematically replace aging ATVs currently in service and are nearing the expected useful life expectancy. Specialty vehicles serve as vital platforms for patrol, rescue, and search missions. The application for federal assistance under this grant is due by July 8, 2013 and comments from the public on this proposal are encouraged.

On July 13, Sheriff Tony Mancuso, along with eight other leaders in Louisiana, past and present, was inducted into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame during a ceremony held in Baton Rouge, LA.

The LA Justice Hall of Fame was established by the LA State Penitentiary Museum Foundation Board of Directors in 2004 to honor and acknowledge the men and women in Louisiana who have served their community and their state in the honorable professions of law enforcement, the judiciary, criminal justice, and civil service.

"I am humbled to receive this award," says Sheriff Mancuso. "And I'm very honored to be inducted with law enforcement greats such as Colonel Mike Edmundson with the Louisiana State Police, Hal Turner, former sheriff of Allen Parish and former executive director of the LA Sheriff's Association, and Corrections Secretary James M. LeBlanc who has a 40 year career in corrections."

Pictured left to right: U. S. Attorney James Letten; Civil rights advocate Alexander P. Tureaud, Jr.; Former Allen Parish Sheriff Hal Turner; Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso; former Angola warden Robert H. Butler; Corrections Secretary James M. LeBlanc; State Police Colonel Mike Edmonson; 20th Judicial District Judge Hal Ware; Founders of Re-Entry Solutions Mr. and Mrs. Andre Christophe; and 12th Judicial District Attorney Charles Riddle